Day Two

So, between yesterday and now; I made a farrago of observations.  Normally, I keep these little realizations to myself, but through the marvel of modern science and technology, the internet has provided me with a blog to wave around such tidbits.  Reader, beware, you’re about to get a look into the mind of the Heretic Fox.  Proceed with caution, my friends.

Last night, I was writing out the plot-line for what I hope shall be the first in a long and wonderful series of novels.  A good friend rang me up and asked if I was interested in hitting the movies.  Naturally, we did and a good time was had by all two of us.  We went to see the lovely Kate Beckinsale shoot and blow things up in Underworld: Awakening.  In 3-D, in fact.  It was fantastic.

The previews, however, gave me an epiphany.  From Hollywood, it doesn’t seem like anything truly unique is being released anymore.  Rather, we have remakes of everything from Clash of the Titans (which has, admittedly, done a 180 turn in its success thanks to the remakes) to live-action movies of Yogi Bear (ow, my childhood!) OR they are recycling the same storyline into everything.  The few exceptions are the odd movie or so like the relatively new Salmon Fishing in the Yemen.

For writers, I’m assuming that the task is potentially more difficult.  So many ideas are being reproduced and duplicated, it has started to feel a little discouraging.  Is the age of uniqueness and originality starting to take a step back?  Is that even so necessarily a bad thing?  For horror and fantasy writers, I imagine it could be either.

From my perspective, it seems easier for an audience to become bored or disinterested in elements of horror or fantasy that they’ve seen before, but at the same time it’s hard for new creations and ideas to take root and gain a fanbase.  Vampires, for example, are almost always going to have a greater following than I believe my Qama or Salidu will.  In fact, my Mhortae will probably only end up being speculated on as a variation of the vampire genre rather than to be acknowledged as their own category.

However, I’ve also come to realize that vampires, werewolves, and unicorns will now and always have diehard fans.  Some of the things people are fans of might cause me to question the thought-process of the world, but then again; I’m notoriously philosophical about the littlest things.  If there’s a marvelous story to be told using tried-and-true — if expatiated — elements, then I cannot imagine myself complaining.  Underworld and Resident Evil are still very fun movie-series.

~A
Heretic Fox

One response to “Day Two

  1. Completely agree with the points you made above. Hollywood loves its remakes, reboots and trilogies. The only one I’m looking forward to this year is The Amazing Spider-man.

Leave a Reply

